• You are here:
  • News & Events
  • News
  • Nominations Committee Announces 2023 Candidates for Bar Office
  • Print Page

Nominations Committee Announces 2023 Candidates for Bar Office

March 15, 2023

The D.C. Bar Nominations Committee has announced the following candidates for the 2023 D.C. Bar elections:

President-Elect (1 seat open)

  • Alexander L. Reid
    Baker & Hostetler LLP

  • Shaun M. Snyder
    National Association of State Treasurers

Treasurer (1 seat open)

  • Alicia M. Long
    U.S. Department of Justice

  • Nicholas W. Woodfield
    The Employment Law Group

Treasurer-Elect (1 seat open)

  • Kevin D. Minsky
    DocuSign, Inc.

  • Mark A. Salzberg
    Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

Board of Governors (5 seats open)

  • Lukman S. Azeez
    Wiley Rein LLP

  • Shayan Davoudi

  • Patrick C. English
    Latham & Watkins LLP

  • Wendy P. Fischman
    Potomac Law Group, PLLC

  • Jason M. Gerson
    Wells Fargo

  • Hardeep S. Grover
    CapEx Legal

  • Brooke T. Iley
    Blank Rome LLP

  • Natalie M. Koss
    Potomac Legal Group PLLC

  • Ramya Ravindran
    Bredhoff & Kaiser PLLC

  • Courtney L. Weiner
    Law Office of Courtney Weiner PLLC

ABA Delegates (2 seats open)

  • Kerry K. Neal
    U.S. Department of State

  • Karen M. Roos

  • D. Jean Veta
    Covington & Burling LLP

ABA Delegates Under 36 (1 seat open)

  • Josephine M. Bahn
    Cozen O’Connor

  • Travis S. Nembhard
    Department of For-Hire Vehicles

Other D.C. Bar members who wish to run for office may secure a spot on the ballot for any position other than president-elect by filing a petition bearing the signatures of at least 417 active members of the D.C. Bar, that figure representing at least one-half of one percent of the Bar’s active membership as of the first business day of 2023.

The petition can also be obtained by contacting Crystal White in the Bar’s Executive Office at 202-737-4700, ext. 2607, or by email at [email protected]. Petitions must be filed no later than 5 p.m. on Wednesday, March 29.

The 2023 D.C. Bar general and Communities elections will run from April 28 to June 1. Voting is exclusively online. Eligible voters will receive an email link to the general election ballot, as well as to the ballots for their D.C. Bar Communities, from DirectVote via Survey & Ballot Systems, an independent vendor administering the 2023 D.C. Bar elections.

Recent News

D.C. Bar Annual Awards

April 19, 2024

Bar Announces 2024 Annual Award Winners

By John Murph

The D.C. Bar has selected the winners of its 2024 Annual Awards honoring individuals and organizations whose outstanding work and exceptional projects benefited Bar membership, enriched the legal community, and expanded access to justice.

Paul M. Geier

April 12, 2024

DOT’s Paul M. Geier Wins 2024 Rosenberg Award

By Jeremy Conrad

The D.C. Bar is honoring Paul M. Geier, assistant general counsel for international and aviation-economic law at the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), with its 2024 Beatrice Rosenberg Award for Excellence in Government Service.

Lawyer Referral Service

April 12, 2024

D.C. Bar Rolls Out AI-Powered Lawyer Referral Service

The District of Columbia Bar is set to launch a state-of-the-art, custom-built Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) that uses advanced artificial intelligence (AI) and natural language processing (NLP) technologies to match D.C. Bar members with individuals seeking their specific legal expertise.

John Brittain

April 08, 2024

D.C. Bar Names UDC’s John Brittain as 2024 Thurgood Marshall Award Winner

By John Murph

The D.C. Bar has named University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law (UDC Law) professor John Brittain as the recipient of its 2024 Thurgood Marshall Award for his lifelong commitment to advancing civil rights, including litigating important cases across the United States on race equity in public schools and higher education and mentoring generations of civil rights advocates.