• You are here:
  • News & Events
  • News
  • Nominations Committee Announces 2024 Candidates for Bar Office
  • Print Page

Nominations Committee Announces 2024 Candidates for Bar Office

March 18, 2024

The D.C. Bar Committee on Nominations has announced the following candidates for the 2024 D.C. Bar elections:

President-Elect (1 seat open)

  • Hardeep Grover
    CapEx Legal
  • Sadina Montani
    Crowell & Moring LLP

Treasurer-Elect (1 seat open)

  • Phillip L. Husband
    DC Health
  • Joshua L. Mogil
    Federal Government

Board of Governors (5 seats open)

  • Leila S. Bham
    Federal Government
  • Anthony J. Coppolino
    Federal Government (retired)
  • Shirley Diaz
    Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP  
  • Belinda Edwards Taylor
    Nonprofit Staff Attorney
  •  Brian K. Flowers
    D.C. Health Benefit Exchange Authority
  • Caroline E. F. Frauman
    U.S. House of Representatives
  • Kevin D. Minsky
    DocuSign, Inc.
  • Denis C. Mitchell
    Stein Mitchell Beato & Missner LLP
  •  Adriaen M. Morse Jr.
  • Kathryn L. Rakoczy
    U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia
  • Alberto J. Rivera
    Krooth & Altman LLP
  • Diane A. Seltzer
    The Seltzer Law Firm

ABA Delegates (3 seats open)

  • Kathleen B. Havener
    The Cullen Law Firm, PLLC  
  • Madina Lokova
    White & Case LLP
  • Lorelie S. Masters
    Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
  • Laura A. Possessky
    Corporation for Public Broadcasting
  • Lucy L. Thomson
    Livingston PLLC

Other D.C. Bar members who wish to run for office may secure a spot on the ballot for any position other than president-elect by filing a petition bearing the signatures of at least 435 active members of the D.C. Bar (the figure represents at least one-half of one percent of the Bar’s active membership as of the first business day of 2024).

The petition can also be obtained by contacting Crystal White in the Bar’s Executive Office at 202-737-4700, ext. 2607, or by email at [email protected]. Petitions must be filed no later than April 1.

The 2024 D.C. Bar general and Communities elections will run from April 29 to June 4. Voting is exclusively online. Eligible voters will receive an email link to the general election ballot, as well as to the ballots for their D.C. Bar Communities, from Direct Vote (via Survey & Ballot Systems), an independent vendor administering the 2024 D.C. Bar elections.

Recent News

DMV Bar Presidents

May 23, 2024

DMV Bar Presidents Discuss Policy and Personal Experience

By Jeremy Conrad

The mandatory bars in the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia made history last year when each elected a Black man as president. On May 21, D.C. Bar President Charles R. Lowery Jr., Maryland State Bar Association President Jason A. DeLoach, and Virginia State Bar President Chidi James sat down with Bloomberg Industry Group Executive Editor Lisa Helem at the Bar’s headquarters for a conversation about their personal journeys into bar leadership.

Judge Newman

May 17, 2024

D.C. Bar IP Community Honors Professor Victoria Phillips and Judge Pauline Newman

By Jeremy Conrad

The D.C. Bar Intellectual Property Community gathered at the Bar’s headquarters on May 14 to honor law professor Victoria Phillips with its annual Champion of Intellectual Property Award and Judge Pauline Newman with its inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award for their outstanding accomplishments in the field of IP law.