Washington Lawyer

Attorney Briefs

From Washington Lawyer, June 2015

By David O’Boyle

Honors and Appointments
Georgetown University Law Center professor David C. Vladeck has been awarded the Federal Trade Commission’s Miles W. Kirkpatrick Award for his public service and leadership in consumer protection… George F. Indest III, president and managing partner of The Health Law Firm, has been named the Outstanding Member in the Health Law, Legislation and Compliance Section of The American Association of Nurse Attorneys… Arnold & Porter LLP partner Elissa J. Preheim has joined the board of directors of Justice at Stake… Paul J. Kaleta, executive vice president and general counsel of First Solar, and Andrew Thorson, vice president and global general counsel, Automotive Experience and Asia at Johnson Controls, have been named members of the Lex Mundi Client Advisory Council… Harry C. Storm, principal at Lerch, Early & Brewer, Chartered, has been inducted into the American College of Trial Lawyers as a fellow… American University Washington College of Law adjunct professor Daniel J. Metcalfe has received the Outstanding Volunteer Service Award from the American Bar Association’s Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice… Roslyn A. Mazer has been appointed inspector general of the Federal Trade Commission… Charles N. Curlett Jr., founding member and managing partner of Levin & Curlett LLC, has been elected chair of the Criminal Law Section of the Federal Bar Association… Jonathan M. Smith has been named associate dean of experiential and clinical programs at the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law… Paula Marie Young has been named a clinical professor at the Qatar University College of Law…. Shana De Caro of De Caro & Kaplen, LLP, has been elected to the board of directors of the Brain Injury Association of America.

On the Move
Diara M. Holmes and Marcus S. Owens have joined Loeb & Loeb LLP as partner… David B. Weisblat has joined Foley & Lardner LLP as of counsel on the firm’s energy industry team… Grace Parke Fremlin and Ori Lev have joined K&L Gates LLP as partner… Kathryn E. Pittman has joined McGlinchey Stafford PLLC as associate… Rajesh De has joined Mayer Brown LLP as partner on the firm’s privacy and security team… Jay Rosenthal has joined Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP as partner… Andrea A. Murino has joined Goodwin Procter LLP as partner on the firm’s antitrust team… Casey L. Dwyer has joined Latham & Watkins LLP as partner… Michael J. Bresnick and Julie K. McConnell have joined Venable LLP as partner… Andrew Ruiz de Gamboa has been promoted to general counsel and corporate secretary at SageNet… Blair M. Jacobs has joined Paul Hastings LLP as partner. Charles J. Hawkins, Christina A. Ondrick, and Robert J. Walters have joined the firm as of counsel… Melanie E. Bates has joined the American Civil Liberties Union of the Nation’s Capital as policy and communications associate… Jamie Wareham has joined Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP as chair of the firm’s litigation department. James E. Anklam, Jonathan R. DeFosse, and Scott W. Doyle have joined the firm as partner… Mary Malloy Dimaio has joined Crosswhite, Limbrick & Sinclair LLP as of counsel… James M. Koukios has joined Morrison & Foerster LLP as partner… Joanne Hawana has joined Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C. as of counsel on the firm’s health law team… Roscoe C. Howard Jr. has joined Barnes & Thornburg LLP as partner. Meena T. Sinfelt has joined the firm as of counsel… Jesse E. Weisshaar has joined Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P. as of counsel on the firm’s data and discovery strategies team… Michael T. Wyatt has joined Hewitt, Waicker & Keelty, LLC as partner… Leasa Woods Anderson has joined Barnes & Thornburg LLP as of counsel… Gary C. Adler has joined Clark Hill PLC as member on the firm’s litigation practice group.

Company Changes
John C. Jost has opened an alternative dispute resolution firm, JCJ Business & Investment ADR, PLLC, located at 1717 K Street NW, suite 900… T. Spence Chubb has opened the Law Office of T. Spence Chubb specializing in intellectual property litigation before the U.S. International Trade Commission and the federal courts. It is located at 1025 Connecticut Avenue NW, suite 1000.

Author! Author!
Retired Navy lieutenant commander Gilbert L. Wells has written “United States v. Nathaniel M. Jones,” published in the February 2015 issue of Virginia Lawyer… George Mason adjunct professor Andrew J. Novak has written The International Criminal Court: An Introduction, published by Springer… Richard N. Friedman has recorded his third album, “Red Carpet,” released by All-Star Music Corporation.

D.C. Bar members in good standing are welcome to submit announcements for this column. When making a submission, please include name, position, organization, and address. Please e-mail submissions to D.C. Bar staff writer David O’Boyle.