Washington Lawyer

Attorney Briefs

From Washington Lawyer, July/August 2005

By Julie Reynolds

Honors and Appointments
Armin U. Kuder, a member of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers Arbitration Committee, has helped develop the first Model Family Arbitration Act... The following have received a 2005 Burton Award for Legal Achievement in writing: Karen F. Candreva, of Arent Fox PLLC; William W. Vodra and Arthur N. Levine, of Arnold & Porter LLP; Kevin A. Ewing, Jason B. Hutt, and Erik E. Petersen, of Bracewell & Giuliani LLP; David M. Kelly and Monica Riva Talley, of Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner LLP; Russell G. Ryan, of King & Spalding LLP; Alexandra A. E. Shapiro, of Latham & Watkins LLP; Andrew L. Frey, of Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw, LLP; Douglas B. Mishkin, of Patton Boggs LLP; Joseph J. Simons, of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP; Elizabeth A. Martin, of Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, P.C.; Christopher Wolf, of Proskauer Rose LLP; and Tracy-Gene G. Durkin, of Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox P.L.L.C.... Heather Miller Podesta, of Blank Rome LLP, has joined the Advisory Board of the Peggy Guggenheim Collection... Wayne R. Cohen, of Cohen & Cohen, P.C., has received the President’s Award, bestowed by the Trial Lawyers Association of Metropolitan Washington D.C.... John C. Keeney Sr. has received the Distinguished Executive Award and J. Patrick Glynn, Maureen H. Killion, and Mark B. Stern have received Meritorious Executive Awards in the U.S. Department of Justice’s 2004 Presidential Rank Award program... M. Lee Kristeller Johnson, assistant counsel of the Navy Department’s Fleet and Industrial Supply Center in San Diego, has received the FY 2004 Department of the Navy Competition and Procurement Excellence Award... Daniel R. Levinson has been appointed inspector general of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services... Robert J. Waters, of Gardner Carton & Douglas, has received the American Telemedicine Association’s 2005 Leadership Award for the Advancement of Telemedicine... Deborah Epstein has become associate dean for clinical education and public interest at the Georgetown University Law Center... Steven M. Schneebaum, a shareholder with Greenberg Traurig LLP, has received the 2005 Catholic Community Services Monsignor Geno Baroni Caritas Advocacy Award... Michael F. Williams, an associate at Kirkland & Ellis LLP, has been appointed to the Criminal Justice Act Panel Committee of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit... Patrick A. Malone, a partner with Stein, Mitchell & Mezines LLP, has been elected president of the Trial Lawyers Association of Metropolitan Washington, D.C.

On the Move
Grant Aldonas has joined Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP as partner... Timothy P. Trysla has joined Alston & Bird LLP. Mark F. Costley has joined as counsel... Former U.S. congressman Jim Turner has joined Arnold & Porter LLP as partner... P. Jay Hines has joined Baker & Hostetler LLP as partner... Dean R. Morley has joined Baker & McKenzie LLP as partner... Albert Krachman has joined Blank Rome LLP as partner. Evan R. Smith has joined as senior counsel... Richard S. DiSalvo has joined Buckley Kolar LLP as counsel... Robert W. Tomilson has joined CIGNA Corporation in Philadelphia as senior counsel... Basil C. Culyba has joined Collier Shannon Scott, PLLC as counsel... Lisa Meengs Joldersma has joined Crowell & Moring LLP as counsel... Steven J. Shimberg has joined DLA Piper Rudnick Gray Cary US LLP. Edward B. Schwartz has joined as partner... Shannon King Nash has joined Dorn & Klamp, PC as of counsel... Robin Teskin has joined Duane Morris LLP as partner... William H. Taft IV has rejoined Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP as of counsel... Norman L. Eule has joined Garson Claxton, LLC in Bethesda, Maryland... Patrick J. Murphy has been promoted to chief counsel for litigation for GE Healthcare... Geoffrey S. Platnick has joined Gimmel, Weiman, Ersek & Blomberg, P.A. as an associate... James K. Alford, Richard A. Burton, and Marvin W. Ehrlich have joined Greenberg Traurig LLP as shareholders in the Tysons Corner, Virginia, office. David A. Hildebrandt and James E. Hyland have also joined as shareholders in the D.C. office... Edward J. Leyden has joined Hartel, Kane, DeSantis, MacDonald & Howie, LLP as of counsel... Joanna R. Onorato has been promoted to counsel at Henrichsen Siegel, PLLC... Mary Ann Gilleece has joined Holland & Knight LLP as partner... Thomas M. Hughes, Tyler Maddry, Theodore J. Murphy, and Thomas A. Rice have been elected to partnership with Hunton & Williams... Thomas J. Dougherty Jr. and Laura C. Mow have joined Kilpatrick Stockton LLP as partners... Daniel M. Gallagher has returned to and Lia Silva Grassi has joined Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP as counsel... Zion Levi has joined Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, PLLC.

Julie Reynolds can be reached by e-mail at [email protected].