Washington Lawyer

Attorney Briefs

From Washington Lawyer, February 2015

By David O’Boyle

Honors and Appointments
U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia Magistrate Judge John M. Facciola has been named Judicial Honoree of the Year by the Bar Association of the District of Columbia… American Constitution Society for Law and Policy President Caroline R. Fredrickson has been appointed cochair of the National Constitution Center’s Scholars Advisory Panel… Neil Boyden Tanner has been appointed vice president, chief counsel, and corporate secretary of Cigna Corporation… The Legal Counsel for the Elderly has appointed 14 lawyers to its Young Lawyers Alliance: David W. Arrojo of Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP; Nicholas K. Austin of Foley & Lardner LLP; Zachary A. Avallone of Kirkland & Ellis LLP; Benjamin C. Bartlett of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP; Jaclyn L. DiLauro of Hogan Lovells; Allison D. Foley of Venable LLP; Li Guo of Steptoe & Johnson LLP; Sara R. Kusiak of Jones Day; Jason R. LaFond of Mayer Brown LLP; Laura B. LoBue of Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP; Katie M. Marcusse of Baker & McKenzie LLP; Kendra Perkins Norwood of Hollingsworth LLP; David L. Ridenour of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP; and Anne M. Rucker of Williams & Connolly LLP… Terrence L. Parker was named president of the Middlesex County Bar Association of Woburn, Massachusetts… David H. Laufman has been appointed chief of the Counterespionage Section in the National Security Division of the U.S. Department of Justice… Law professor Peter B. Edelman has been appointed as the Carmack Waterhouse Professor of Law and Public Policy at Georgetown University Law Center… Caitlin E. McAndrews has been appointed as a panel member for Higher Education Decisions Group, Inc.… Mary Boney Denison has been appointed as commissioner for trademarks at the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

On the Move
Stacie B. Fletcher has been elected partner at Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP. Gregory T. Merz has joined the firm as of counsel… Kirby D. Behre has joined Miller & Chevalier Chartered as partner. Michael Anderson and Lauren E. Briggerman have joined the firm as associate… John “Jay” N. Coulby III has joined the intellectual property team at Quarles & Brady LLP as partner… Nathan W. Lambeth has joined Williams Mullen as associate… Daris D. Meeks has joined Venable LLP as partner. David A. Mullon Jr. has joined the firm as counsel… Jack D. Sidorov has joined Lowenstein Sandler LLP as senior counsel on the firm’s antitrust and trade regulation team… Bart S. Epstein has founded Jefferson Education Accelerator and serves as its chief executive officer… A. Joseph Jay III has been appointed to special counsel at Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP… Seth A. Davidson and Craig A. Gilley have joined Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C. as member… Sarah M. Everhart has joined the Agriculture Law Education Initiative… Mark L. Krotoski has joined Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP as partner… Kevin A. Chambers has joined Latham & Watkins LLP as counsel on the firm’s white collar defense and investigations team… R. Douglas Taylor Jr. has joined Bean Kinney & Korman, P.C. as associate… Allison Fulton, Sean C. Griffin, Fiona A. Philip, and Paul M. Tyrrell have been elected partner at Sidley Austin LLP… Matthew L. Mazur has been promoted to partner at Dechert LLP… William F. Coffield, Babak Hoghooghi, and Melvin White have joined Berliner, Corcoran & Rowe LLP as partner. White served as D.C. Bar president for the 2007–08 term… D. Nathan McMichael has been promoted to partner at Mayer Brown LLP… Tirzah S. Lollar and Jeremy C. Marwell have been promoted to partner at Vinson & Elkins LLP… Jessica D. Bradley, Patricia A. Dunn, Kenneth W. Field, John M. Gore, Rosanna K. McCalips, Hashim M. Mooppan, Tracy A. Stitt, and Danielle M. Varnell have been promoted to partner at Jones Day… Jeffrey D. Skinner has been elected partner at Schiff Hardin LLP… Victor N. Balancia has joined RatnerPrestia as counsel… Clifford M. Sloan has joined Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP as partner on the firm’s litigation team… Michael Alan Forero has been promoted to senior vice president and associate general counsel, regional head of Payments and Cash Management Legal, North America in the Global Banking & Markets Division of HSBC Securities (USA) Inc.… Patrick M. Schoshinski has joined Pasternak & Fidis P.C. as of counsel on the firm’s estate planning and administration team… David M. Wilkinson has joined Polsinelli PC as shareholder… Heidi F. Gertner has joined Hogan Lovells as partner in the firm’s government regulatory practice… Clinton H. Brannon has been promoted to partner at Mayer Brown LLP.

Company Changes
Washington, D.C., securities law boutique firm Pickard and Djinis LLP has changed its name to Pickard Djinis and Pisarri LLP… The Washington, D.C., office of Covington & Burling LLP has relocated to One CityCenter, 850 10th Street NW… Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP has moved its Washington, D.C., office to 1200 17th Street NW… The law firm Karp, Frosh, Wigodsky & Norwind, P.A. has changed its name to Karp, Wigodsky, Norwind &Gold, P.A. 

Author! Author!
North Carolina Court of Appeals Judge J. Douglas McCullough has written Sea of Greed, the true story of the investigation preceding the indictment of Manuel Noriega and the invasion of Panama, published by Deer Hawk Publications… William J. Skinner has authored the South Florida Election Law Handbook: How Voters Can Prevent Election Fraud and Make Elections Fair, published by Xlibris… Mary Claire Mahaney has authored the essay, “A Letter to My Son,” published in the 2013 supplement, volume 37, of the Legal Studies ForumCarol Miller has written A Nip of Murder: A Moonshine Mystery, published by Minotaur Books… Frank A. Pasquale, a professor at the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law, has written The Black Box Society: The Secret Algorithms That Control Money and Information, published by Harvard University Press… Attorney Jonathan A. Weiss has coauthored A Star Over Harlem, published by McNally Jackson Books… Ira P. Robbins, a professor at American University Washington College of Law, has recently authored two books: Habeas Corpus and Prisoners and the Law, both published by Thomson Reuters West… Peter G. Drymalski, staff attorney to the Montgomery County (Maryland) Commission on Common Ownership Communities, has written Trial by Combat: Lawyers in the Battlefields of the Civil War, published in the May 2014 edition of the New York State Bar Association Journal… Kenneth May, senior legal editor at Bloomberg BNA, has written a supplement for Bloomberg BNA’s 2014 How Arbitration Works.

D.C. Bar members in good standing are welcome to submit announcements for this column. When making a submission, please include name, position, organization, and address. Please e-mail submissions to D.C. Bar staff writer David O’Boyle at [email protected].