D.C. BAR 2020 CONFERENCE – DISCOVER MORE AT https://www.dcbarconference.org

Washington Lawyer

Attorney Briefs

From Washington Lawyer, February 2007

By Julie Reynolds

Honors and Appointments
James D. Bishop, director of the Archdiocesan Legal Network of Catholic Community Services of Washington, D.C., has received the Benemerenti Medal, for outstanding meritorious service to the church, from the Archdiocese of Washington, D.C.... Daniel W. Leedy has been elected judge of the county court at law in Austin County, Texas... Guy Vander Jagt, of counsel at Baker & Hostetler LLP, has received the National Distance Education Award from the Distance Education and Training Council... Erika Pierson has been named an administrative law judge at the District of Columbia Office of Administrative Hearings... Dave Rifkin has been appointed adjunct professor at the Georgetown University Law Center... Julie Becker, a senior staff attorney at the Legal Aid Society of the District of Columbia, has received the 2006 Housing Justice Award from the National Housing Law Project... Michael A. Carrier has received tenure and has been promoted to professor of law at Rutgers Law School–Camden in Camden, New Jersey... Steven R. Johnson, a partner at Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP, has been elected chair of the Planning Commission for Rockville, Maryland... John Huerta, general counsel of the Smithsonian Institution, has been elected to the board of trustees of the National Parks Conservation Association... The following have been elected to the 2007 board of directors of the South Asian Bar Association of Washington, D.C.: President Neal Seth and Vice President Rahul Das, associates at Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, L.L.P.; Secretary Padma Shah, an associate at the H. T. Than Law Group; immediate past president Hrishi Karthikeyan, an associate at Covington & Burling LLP; Vineeta Bathia, an associate at Foley & Lardner LLP; Alpa Gandhi, an associate at Finnegan Henderson; Habib Ilahi, counsel at Schertler & Onorato, L.L.P.; Anita Khushalani, an associate at Arent Fox PLLC; Devendra “Dave” Kumar, an associate at Goldberg, Godles, Wiener & Wright; and Vineet Shahani, an associate at Latham & Watkins LLP... John P. Sarbanes, a partner at Venable LLP, has been elected by the Third District of Maryland to the United States House of Representatives... Thomas W. Brunner, a partner at Wiley Rein & Fielding LLP, and District of Columbia Bar President-Elect Melvin White, a partner at McDermott Will & Emery LLP, have been named cochairs of the board of directors of the Washington Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Urban Affairs.

On the Move
Stephanie Marcus has joined Cohen & Cohen, P.C. as associate... Jennifer A. Smith has joined the Columbia Association, Inc. as human resources counsel... Nathan K. Cummings and Kenneth J. Krisko have been elected partner in the Reston, Virginia, office of Cooley Godward Kronish LLP... Jack A. Levy has joined DLA Piper US LLP as partner. Jerry H. Herman has joined as of counsel... Celeste Wasielewski has joined Duane Morris LLP as partner... Jeffrey Senger has been appointed deputy chief counsel of the Food and Drug Administration of the United States Department of Health and Human Services... Richard M. Sissman and Thomas S. Rand Jr. have joined Fracassi Mahdavi Sissman & Rand, LLP as partner in the Rockville, Maryland, office... David E. Blabey has joined Hiscock & Barclay, LLP as of counsel in Albany, New York... Mark E. Baker has joined Holland & Knight LLP as partner in the Northern Virginia office... Asuncion C. Hostin has joined Kroll as managing director for business intelligence and investigations in the New York office... David I. Brown, Maximilian Grant, and Rachel W. Sheridan have been elected partner at Latham & Watkins LLP... Stephen J. Crimmins has joined Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP as partner. Jeffrey H. Chen has joined Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP as partner in the Hong Kong office... Stephani M. Hildebrandt has joined Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP as associate... Jude Kearney and Jonathan L. Rubin have joined Patton Boggs LLP as partner... Charles E. Davidow has joined Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP as partner... Todd W. Betke has joined Pepper Hamilton LLP as of counsel... Thomas H. Jackson has joined Powell Goldstein LLP as partner... Alan Swendiman has been named special assistant to the president and director of the Office of Administration for President George W. Bush. Christopher G. Oprison has been named associate counsel to the president... Gail L. Daubert and Jason M. Healy have been named partner at Reed Smith LLP... Victoria Hao and Sunwoo Lee have joined Seyfarth Shaw LLP as associate and partner, respectively... Bradley P. Hartman has been named chair of the business department of the Phoenix office of Stinson Morrison Hecker LLP... Paul Farley has joined the United States Attorney’s Office in Denver as chief of the appellate division... Catherine P. Bennett and Joseph Ryan have joined Venable LLP as partner... William H. Barringer, Christopher A. Dunn, James P. Durling, Kenneth J. Pierce, and Daniel L. Porter have joined Vinson & Elkins L.L.P. as partner. Matthew R. Nicely has joined as counsel. Robert E. DeFrancesco III, Valerie Ellis, David T. Hardin Jr., Robert L. LaFrankie, Joseph A. Laroski Jr., Yu Uni Li, Matthew P. McCullough, and Victor S. Mroczka have joined as associate... Carrie Anderson, P. J. Himelfarb, and Holly Loiseau have been elected partner at Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP. David J. Ball Jr. has been elected partner in the New York office... Gabriel Acevedo has joined Whitmont Legal Technologies Inc. as litigation consultant... D. Cameron Prell has joined Williams Mullen as associate... Brian P. O’Shaughnessy has joined Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, PLLC as a member in the Tysons Corner, Virginia, office... Paula Junghans has joined Zuckerman Spaeder LLP as partner.

Company Changes
Alan H. Grant, Michael L. Riffkin, and Rena L. Strauss have formed Grant, Riffkin & Strauss, P.C. in Rockville, Maryland... Kirkpatrick & Lockhart Nicholson Graham LLP and Preston Gates & Ellis LLP have combined to form Kirkpatrick & Lockhart Preston Gates Ellis LLP... Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP has opened an office in Hong Kong... Anthony G. Newman, Ernest W. McIntosh Jr., and Joseph A. Hennessey have formed Newman McIntosh & Hennessey, LLP in Bethesda, Maryland.

Author! Author!
John Gordon Forester Jr. has written Death by Due Process, published by Outskirts Press, Inc.... Mary E. Goulet, of counsel at Whitham, Curtis, Christofferson & Cook, P.C., has written the play 1192Underdog... Lars Noah, a professor at the University of Florida Levin College of Law, has written the second edition of Law, Medicine and Medical Technology: Cases and Materials, published by Foundation Press.

D.C. Bar members in good standing are welcome to submit announcements for this column. When making a submission, please include name, position, organization, and address. Julie Reynolds can be reached by e-mail at [email protected].