D.C. Bar Judicial Evaluations Begin

November 20, 2017

Judicial Evaluations

The D.C. Bar Judicial Evaluation Committee has begun its 2017–2018 survey of the performance of selected judges who preside over the D.C. Court of Appeals and the D.C. Superior Court.

Attorneys who had cases pending before one or more of the selected judges during the period between July 1, 2015, and June 30, 2017, have been asked to participate in the survey. The survey is conducted online only, and all responses will remain confidential and anonymous. Evaluations are due by 5 p.m. on January 10.

Judges are evaluated in their 2nd, 6th, 10th, and 13th year of service. Senior judges are evaluated during the second year of their four-year terms, and once during their two-year terms.

Each evaluated judge will receive a copy of his or her survey results, and the chief judge of each court will receive the results for all judges from his court. Survey results of senior judges and judges in their 6th, 10th, and 13th year of service also will be sent to the D.C. Commission on Judicial Disabilities and Tenure.

The following Court of Appeals judges are being evaluated this year: Corinne A. Beckwith, Catharine F. Easterly. Michael W. Farrell. John M. Ferren. And William C. Pryor.

The following Superior Court judges are being evaluated this year: John H. Bayly, Jr., Danya A. Dayson, Jennifer A. Di Toro. Herbert B. Dixon, Jr., Stephanie Duncan-Peters, William M. Jackson, John Ramsey Johnson, Ann O'Regan Keary, Peter A. Krauthamer, John F. McCabe, Jr., Robert E. Morin, Truman A. Morrison, III, John M. Mott, William W. Nooter, Michael L. Rankin, Robert A. Salerno, Darlene M. Soltys, Frederick H. Weisburg, Steven M. Wellner, Ronald P. Wertheim, Yvonne M. Williams, Peter H. Wolf, and Joan Zeldon.

Attorneys who appeared before one or more of the judges being evaluated and who have not received an e-mail notification can request a unique link directly from Research USA, the independent research organization administering the survey, at