Judge Canan Appointed Chair of Court Committee

June 3, 2014

On March 18 Chief Judge Lee F. Satterfield of the D.C. Superior Court appointed Associate Judge Russell F. Canan as chair of the court’s Committee on the Selection and Tenure of Magistrate Judges.

Judge Canan was appointed to the Superior Court by President Bill Clinton in 1993. Prior to his judicial appointment, he helped to establish the Southern Center for Human Rights in Atlanta, Georgia, representing prisoners on death row and directing class action civil rights lawsuits. In addition, he has served as partner at Canan, Burns & O’Toole; at Milliken, Van Susteren & Canan; and at Canan, Kiersh & Lobo.

All members of the Committee on the Selection and Tenure of Magistrate Judges, including its chair, are appointed by the chief judge of the Superior Court to assist in the selection of magistrate judges. The committee identifies and recommends individuals whose character, experience, ability, competence, and commitment best qualify them to fill the positions. In addition, the committee reviews the performance of magistrate judges once in office and makes recommendations regarding their reappointment and tenure.