Susan M. Hoffman Wins D.C. Bar President-Elect Post

May 31, 2018

Susan M. Hoffman
Photo Credit: Jeffery Leon

Susan M. Hoffman, a partner at Crowell & Moring LLP, has been elected president-elect of the D.C. Bar for the 2018–2019 term. Hoffman will assume office on June 12 and serve in that post for one year before becoming president; she will continue in office a third year as immediate past president. With Hoffman’s installation, incumbent President-Elect Esther H. Lim will become the Bar’s 47th president. Lim is a partner at Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP.

Hoffman is a former two-term member of the Bar’s Board of Governors. She serves on the board of directors of the Washington Legal Clinic for the Homeless and the Washington Council of Lawyers and is a founding board chair of the Domestic Violence Legal Empowerment and Advocacy Project. In addition, she has served in leadership roles with the American Bar Association Litigation Section, the D.C. Bar Foundation, and the Legal Counsel for the Elderly, among many others. A graduate of Indiana University and The George Washington University Law School, Hoffman focuses her practice on public service, coordinating, supervising, and administering pro bono work handled by attorneys at Crowell & Moring, as well as litigating family law, domestic violence, landlord/tenant, and other poverty law cases.

“I am honored and grateful to have been elected by the D.C. Bar membership to the president-elect position,” Hoffman said. “As I have gotten to know the other candidates for Bar office throughout the campaign, I have been impressed by their dedication, talent, and inspiration — and know that the D.C. Bar will be well-served by them, and that they will further the Bar’s reputation as the finest in the country.”

Also elected to one-year terms were, as secretary, Paul S. Lee of Dechert LLP, and, as treasurer, Amy E. Nelson of Whitman-Walker Health.

Elected to the Bar’s Board of Governors for three-year terms were Leslie T. Thornton of WGL Holdings, Inc. and Washington Gas Light Company, Elizabeth “Sally” Gere of the Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia (retired), Moses A. Cook of the DC Law Students in Court, Saleema Snow of the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law, and A.J. S. Dhaliwal of Buckley Sandler LLP.

Elected for two-year terms on the ABA House of Delegates were Laura A. Possessky of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, John “Jack” C. Keeney Jr. of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums, and Lucy L. Thomson of Livingston PLLC.

Of 79,948 D.C. Bar members who were eligible to vote, 6,650 members cast ballots for an 8.32 percent overall turnout. A complete breakdown of the election results follows.

All newly elected officers, board members, and delegates will take office during the 2018 Celebration of Leadership: The D.C. Bar Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting on June 12 at the Mayflower Hotel, 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, D.C.


2018 General Election Tally Sheet 










 Susan M. Hoffman




 Bridget Bailey Lipscomb








 Paul S. Lee




 Brian A. Benko








Amy E. Nelson 




Brandes S.G. Ash







 Board of Governors

Leslie T. Thornton




Elizabeth "Sally" Gere




Moses A. Cook 




Saleema Snow




A.J. S. Dhaliwal




Leah M. Quadrino


Mary Ann Snow



Rawle Andrews Jr. 



Louis Ramos

Salvatore J. Zambri





ABA House of Delegates 

Laura A. Possessky




John "Jack" C. Keeney, Jr.




Lucy L. Thomson




Janene D. Jackson 



Donald R. Dunner



In addition to these Bar leaders, elected D.C. Bar Communities leadership is as follows:

2018 Communities Elections Results

Administrative Law and Agency Practice Community
Dan Wolff

Antitrust and Consumer Law Community
Richard Rodriguez

Arts, Entertainment, Media and Sports Law Community
Micah Ratner

Corporation, Finance and Securities Law Community
Leila Bham

Criminal Law and Individual Rights Community
Fabio Leonardi

District of Columbia Affairs Community
Sally Kram

Environment, Energy and Natural Resources Community
Ryland Li

Estates, Trusts and Probate Law Community
Lisa Orlow

Family Law Community
Jamie Sparano

Government Contracts and Litigation Community
Alexander Canizares

Intellectual Property Law Community
Taneashia Morrell

International Law Community
Stephen J. Claeys

Labor and Employment Law Community
Hanan Idilbi

Law Practice Management Community
Margaret Cassidy

Litigation Community
Amanda Korber

Real Estate, Housing and Land Use Community
Livya Heithaus Antonacci

Taxation Community
Elizabeth Young