D.C. Bar BOG Swears In New Members

By Jeffery Leon

July 23, 2018

BOG Swearing in

The D.C. Bar held an orientation and swearing-in ceremony for the new members of its Board of Governors on July 10, which featured remarks from D.C. Court of Appeals Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby and D.C. Superior Court Chief Judge Robert Morin.

After a morning orientation and luncheon, newly inaugurated D.C. Bar President Esther H. Lim called the meeting to order and welcomed the Bar’s new slate of leaders.

Board of Governors officers for the 2018-2019 term:

  • Susan M. Hoffman of Crowell & Moring LLP, president–elect
  • Paul S. Lee of Dechert LLP, secretary
  • Amy E. Nelson of Whitman-Walker Health, treasurer

Board members for three-year terms:

  • Moses A. Cook, DC Law Students in Court
  • A.J. S. Dhaliwal, Buckley Sandler LLP
  • Elizabeth “Sally” Gere, Office of the Attorney General of the District of Columbia
  • Saleema Snow, University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law
  • Leslie T. Thornton, WGL Holdings Inc.

ABA House of Delegates for two-year terms:

  • John “Jack” C. Keeney Jr., Association of Zoos and Aquariums
  • Laura A. Possessky, Corporation for Public Broadcasting
  • Lucy L. Thomson, Livingston PLLC

Chief Judge Morin urged the new Bar leaders to continue standing by the D.C. Courts, highlighting the critical needs of the D.C. Superior Court and calling attention to the court’s bench vacancies.

In her remarks, Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby issued a call to service. “This is a very critical time in the city and the country, and the role of lawyers to safeguard access to justice and the rule of law is vitally important, more now than ever,” she said.