Klineberg Wins as D.C. Bar President-Elect

May 30, 2019

Geoffrey M. Klineberg, a partner at Kellogg, Hansen, Todd, Figel & Frederick, P.L.L.C., has been elected president-elect of the D.C. Bar for the 2019–2020 term. Klineberg will assume office on June 11 and serve in that post for one year before becoming president; he will continue in office a third year as immediate past president. 

Klineberg, whose long history of service with the D.C. Bar goes back to 2001, currently serves as chair of the D.C. Bar Global Legal Practice Committee and as a member of the D.C. Bar Pro Bono Task Force. 

At Kellogg Hansen, Klineberg focuses his practice on administrative law and appellate litigation, representing clients in many matters before the Federal Communications Commission, as well as in federal district and appellate courts. 

Klineberg said he is grateful for the opportunity to serve the Bar. “I am honored to have been elected as the next D.C. Bar president-elect. I want to thank the D.C. Bar membership for its confidence and support, and I would particularly like to thank Charlie Lemley, who reminded all of us throughout the campaign of the importance of working to achieve a more inclusive and diverse Bar,” Klineberg added. 

Also elected to one-year terms were, as secretary, Courtney L. Weiner of the Law Office of Courtney Weiner PLLC and, as treasurer, Richard V. Rodriguez of the Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia. 

Elected to the Bar’s Board of Governors for three-year terms were Jessica E. Adler of the Law Office of Jessica E. Adler, Theodore A. Howard of Wiley Rein LLP, Su Sie Ju of Bread for the City, Paul S. Lee of Steptoe & Johnson LLP, and Amy E. Nelson of Whitman-Walker Health.  

Elected for two-year terms to the ABA House of Delegates were Pauline A. Schneider (retired), D. Jean Veta of Covington & Burling LLP, and Josephine M. Bahn of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (for the under-36 seat). 

All newly elected officers, board members, and delegates will take office during the 2019 Celebration of Leadership: The D.C. Bar Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting on June 11 at the Grand Hyatt Washington, 1000 H Street NW.  

Of the 80,356 members who were eligible to vote in the Bar’s 2019 elections, 6,456 members cast their ballots for an 8.03 percent overall turnout. A complete breakdown of the election results follows.

2019 General Election Tally Sheet

Screen Shot 2019-05-30 at 7

The D.C. Bar Communities also elected their new set of leaders:  

2019 Communities Elections Results  

Administrative Law and Agency Practice Community 
Tonya Butler-Truesdale 
Zaheer Maskatia 

Antitrust and Consumer Law Community 
John Ingrassia 

Arts, Entertainment, Media and Sports Law Community 
Hardeep Grover 

Corporation, Finance and Securities Law Community 
Peter Malyshev 
Bradley Bondi 

Courts, Lawyers and the Administration of Justice Community* 
Misty Thomas 

District of Columbia Affairs Community 
Rochelle Howard 

Environment, Energy and Natural Resources Community 
Cheryl Rose
Wesley Heath

Estates, Trusts and Probate Law Community 
Michelle Evans 

Family Law Community 
Emily Petrino 
Marshall Yaap 

Government Contracts and Litigation Community** 
Erin Felix 
Amy Garber 

Health Law Community 
Jason Reddish 

Intellectual Property Law Community 
Belinda Scrimenti 

International Law Community 
Jill Morrison 
Dante Figueroa 

Labor and Employment Law Community 
Jaclyn Hamlin 

Law Practice Management Community 
Canby Wood 

Litigation Community 
Matthew Edwards 

Real Estate, Housing and Land Use Community 
Tonya Butler-Truesdale 

Taxation Community 
Amy Elliott

*To be renamed Public Interest and Courts Community, effective July 1, 2019.
**To be renamed Government Contracts Community, effective July 1, 2019.