Bar Seeks Nominees for 2020 Rosenberg, Marshall Awards

November 26, 2019

DC Bar Award Nominations

The D.C. Bar is calling for nominations for its 2020 Beatrice Rosenberg Award for Excellence in Government Service and 2020 Thurgood Marshall Award for extraordinary commitment and initiative in pursuing equal justice and opportunity for all Americans. Awardees must be members of the D.C. Bar. Both awards will be presented at the Celebration of Leadership: The D.C. Bar Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting on June 25, 2020. 

Each year the D.C. Bar presents the Rosenberg Award to a member whose career exemplifies the highest order of public service. The Bar established the award in honor of Beatrice “Bea” Rosenberg, who dedicated 35 years of her career to government service and performed with distinction at the U.S. Department of Justice and the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. She also served as a member of the Board on Professional Responsibility. 

In keeping with the exceptional accomplishments of Ms. Rosenberg, nominees should have demonstrated outstanding professional judgment throughout long-term government careers, worked intentionally to share their expertise as mentors to younger government lawyers, and devoted significant personal energy to public or community service. Nominees must be current or recent employees of any local, state, or federal government agency.  

The Thurgood Marshall Award recognizes a member of the D.C. Bar who has shown excellence, commitment, and dedication in the areas of civil rights, individual liberties, and the public interest. Established in 1993, the biennial award alternates with presentation of the William J. Brennan Jr. Award. The D.C. Bar seeks a strong candidate who has demonstrated exceptional achievement in the pursuit of equal justice and who has made a significant, positive impact on the quality of the administration of justice. 

Additional information for both awards, including nomination forms and a list of past winners, can be found at 

To submit a nomination for either the 2020 Beatrice Rosenberg or Thurgood Marshall Award, please include a copy of the nominee’s résumé along with the nomination form by February 3, 2020. Electronic submissions are encouraged. Nominations may be submitted in one of the following ways: