Bar Seeks Nominees for 2018 Rosenberg, Marshall Awards

December 7, 2017

The D.C. Bar is calling for nominations for its 2018 Beatrice Rosenberg Award for Excellence in Government Service and its 2018 Thurgood Marshall Award for excellence, commitment and dedication in the areas of civil rights, civil liberties and the public interest. Awardees must be members of the D.C. Bar. Both awards will be presented at the Celebration of Leadership: The D.C. Bar Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting, on June 12.

The Rosenberg Award is presented annually to a D.C. Bar member whose career exemplifies the highest order of public service. The Bar established the award in honor of Beatrice “Bea” Rosenberg, who dedicated 35 years of her career to government service and performed with distinction at the U.S. Department of Justice and the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. She also served as a member of the Board on Professional Responsibility.

In keeping with the exceptional accomplishments of Ms. Rosenberg, nominees should have demonstrated outstanding professional judgment throughout long-term government careers, worked intentionally to share their expertise as mentors to younger government lawyers, and devoted significant personal energy to public or community service. Nominees must be current or former employees of any local, state, or federal government agency.

The Thurgood Marshall Award recognizes a member of the D.C. Bar who has shown extraordinary commitment and initiative in pursuing equal justice and opportunity for all Americans.

The award was established in 1993 and is presented in alternating years as the William J. Brennan Jr. Award or Thurgood Marshall Award. The D.C. Bar seeks a strong candidate who has demonstrated exceptional achievement in the pursuit of equal justice in the areas of civil rights, individual liberties, and the public interest, and who has made a significant, positive impact on the quality of administration of justice.

Additional information for both awards, including nomination forms and a list of past award winners, can be found at

To submit a nomination for either the 2018 Beatrice Rosenberg or Thurgood Marshall Award, please include a copy of the nominee’s résumé and the nomination form by February 2, 2018. Nominations may be submitted in one of the following ways:

  • in hard copy to Executive Office, District of Columbia Bar, 1101 K Street NW, Suite 200, Washington, DC 20005. Electronic submissions are encouraged.