D.C. Bar Exam The bar exam will be administered remotely on October 5 and 6. The bar exam is managed exclusively by the D.C. Court of Appeals Committee on Admissions. For questions or concerns, please visit or email [email protected].



Esther H. Lim Wins D.C. Bar President-Elect Post

May 31, 2017

Esther LimEsther H. Lim, a partner at Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, LLP, has been elected president-elect of the D.C. Bar for the 2017–2018 term. Lim will assume office on June 14 and serve in that post for one year before becoming president, and will continue in office a third year as immediate past president. With Lim’s installation, incumbent President-Elect Patrick McGlone will become the 46th president of the D.C. Bar. McGlone is the senior vice president, general counsel, and chief compliance officer at Ullico Inc.

Lim has previously served in numerous capacities for the Bar, including serving on the D.C. Bar’s Board of Governors from 2005 to 2008, the Development Committee from 2006 to 2007, and the Nominations Committee in 2002.

Lim has over 20 years of experience in complex patent law, including litigation, prosecution, licensing, and counseling at Finnegan. For 10 years, she has served as the editor-in-chief of the firm’s Last Month at the Federal Circuit newsletter and has served as a law clerk to the Honorable Randall R. Rader at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Lim is also an adjunct professor at Howard University School of Law.

Also elected for one-year terms were, as secretary, Alva Y. Waller of Legal Resolutions Inc., and, as treasurer, A.J. S. Dhaliwal of Buckley Sandler LLP.

Elected to the Bar’s Board of Governors for three-year terms were Benjamin F. Wilson of Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.; Keiko K. Takagi of the Sughrue Mion PLLC; David W. Arrojo of the U.S. House of Representatives, Committee of Ethics; Megan Lacchini of Legal Services Corporation; and Elizabeth Dewey of DLA Piper LLP.

Elected for two-year terms on the ABA House of Delegates were D. Jean Veta of Covington & Burling LLP, Darrell C. Valdez of the United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia, and Carter C. Simpson, Hunton & Williams LLP (under 36-seat).

Of the 77,746 ballots mailed, 6,215 were cast for a 7.99 percent overall turnout. A complete breakdown of election results follows.

All newly elected officers, Board members, and delegates will take office during the 2017 Celebration of Leadership: The D.C. Bar Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting on June 14.


2017 General Election 

 Office Candidate Votes Percentage 
 Esther H. Lim 3417 60.61% Elected
  Leah M. Quadrino 2215 39.39% 
  Alva Y. Waller 2770 55.93% Elected
  Brenda C. Zwack 2183 44.07% 
  A.J. S. Dhaliwal 2709 52.10% Elected
  Jonathan D. Kossak 2491 47.90% 
 Board of Governors    
  Benjamin F. Wilson 2886 12.65% Elected
  Keiko K. Takagi 2761  12.10% Elected
  David W. Arrojo 2728 11.95% Elected
  Megan Lacchini 2655 11.63% Elected
  Elizabeth R. Dewey 2572 11.27% Elected
  Sadina Montani 2047 8.97% 
  Helen L. Serassio 2016 8.83% 
  Carolina M. Wirth 1864 8.17% 
  David E. Hawkins 1803 7.90% 
  Andrew N. Cook 1489 6.52% 
 ABA House of Delegates    
  D. Jean Veta 3338 39.09% Elected
  Darrell C. Valdez 2962 34.69% Elected
  Emil J. Ali 2239 26.22% 
 ABA House of Delegates
 Under 36
  Carter C. Simpson 2643 55.07% Elected
  Malaika M. Lindo 2156 44.93%