Health Law

D.C. Bar Health Law Section August 2013 Newsletter

New Steering Committee Members
The Health Law Section Steering Committee welcomes three new members.

Rebecca L. Burke, a new member of the steering committee, is of counsel to Powers Pyles Sutter & Verville. Her practice encompasses a range of Medicare and Medicaid payment issues, fraud and abuse, Stark law, coverage, coding and other issues that affect physicians, hospitals, transplant centers, diagnostic testing facilities and various other health care providers. Her practice also includes the Public Health Service 340B drug pricing program. Prior to serving on the steering committee, Rebecca served on the Health Law Section Programs and Education Committee.

Selina P. Coleman, a new member of the steering committee, is a senior associate with Norton Rose Fulbright. Her clients include hospitals, pharmaceutical and medical–device manufacturers and national retail pharmacy chains. Focusing on regulatory and litigation matters, Selina assists her clients with matters including compliance questions related to the Sunshine Act, government investigations of Medicare or Medicaid billing, self–disclosures related to fraud–and–abuse laws and appeals related to administrative reimbursement. Before serving on the steering committee, Selina served as chair of the Health Law Section Programs and Education Committee.

Jeff J. Wurzburg, a new member of the steering committee, is an attorney with the Office of the General Counsel, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Division (CMSD), Program Review Group. He provides advice to CMS on a variety of program review matters related to the implementation of the Affordable Care Act, including Affordable Insurance Exchanges, Premium Stabilization Programs and Insurance Affordability Programs. Prior to joining HHS in 2012, he served as an Associate Deputy General Counsel in the Office of General Counsel at the Department of Defense. He has also worked for Senator Evan Bayh and was a legal fellow for Representative Henry Waxman. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Indiana University in 2003, and his law degree from Drake University Law School in 2005. In 2012, he earned an LL.M. in health law and policy from American University Washington College of Law.

The current members of the Health Law Section Steering Committee are

  • Alan J. Arville, Programs & Education Committee Chair
  • Rebecca L. Burke, Public Statement Designee, CLE Coordinator
  • Selina P. Coleman, Section Cochair
  • Jenifer A. Cromwell, Section Cochair, Newsletter Coordinator
  • Jennifer H. Hitchon, Nominating Committee Chair
  • Cathy Zeman Scheineson, Financial Officer, Community Outreach Coordinator
  • Erica R. Spector, Membership Coordinator, CLE Coordinator, New Practitioners Committee Chair, Newsletter Coordinator
  • Hemi D. Tewarson, D.C. Practice Manual Coordinator, Programs & Education Committee Liaison
  • Jeff J. Wurzburg, Internet Coordinator, Community Outreach Coordinator

The following members of the Health Law Section Steering Committee completed their terms on June 30, 2013. We appreciate and thank them for their service on the Health Law Section Steering Committee and their commitment to strengthening the Health Law Section.

  • Saundra E. Brown–Savoy
  • Steve Chiu
  • Tearyn J. Loving

Back to top

Programs & Education
The Health Law Section is working on planning programs on issues of interest to Health Law Section members. Please look for e–mails with information about section programs in the upcoming weeks.

The Health Law Section continually strives to plan programs to meet the interest and needs of our members. If you have thoughts about programs the section can host, please e–mail Programs & Education Committee Chair Alan Arville.

Back to top

New Practitioners
Are you signed up for the Health Law Section’s new practitioners group? The group is growing and is sponsoring exciting programs and events, including speed–networking, volunteer events at D.C. Central Kitchen and career panels. To get involved with the new practitioners group, please e–mail New Practitioners Committee Chair Erica Spector.

Back to top

Write for the Health Law Section Newsletter
The Health Law Section newsletter is now accepting articles on health law topics for publication in the newsletter. If you have an idea for an article, you may submit it to Health Law Section Newsletter Editor Jen Cromwell.

Please include a short description of the article, and, as required by the D.C. Bar, identify the attorney who will review your article before it is submitted. The Health Law Section Steering Committee will consider your proposal and will notify you of whether your proposal has been accepted. The steering committee reserves the right to reject proposals. Please note that when you submit your article for publication in the newsletter, you will be granting the D.C. Bar the nonexclusive right to publish your article.

Back to top