D.C. Cup Moot Court Awards and Honors




On March 19 Georgetown University Law students Joyce Dela Pena and Zach Noble triumphed over the George Washington University School of Law in the final round of oral arguments to win the 2018 D.C. Cup Moot Court Competition held at the D.C. Court of Appeals.

The competition, sponsored by the D.C. Bar Communities, features students from six D.C. law schools arguing cases through three rounds before three volunteer judges. This year’s case was Darrington v. Gold concerning product liability for an illegal marijuana transaction.

The finalists from George Washington University Law and Georgetown Law argued their cases before volunteer judges Patrick McGlone, D.C. Bar president; Stephanie Litos senior counsel to the attorney general at the Office of the Attorney General for the District of Columbia;  and Judge Sherry Trafford of the D.C. Superior Court.

In addition to George Washington and Georgetown, teams from American University Washington College of Law, Howard University School of Law, The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, and the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law took part in the competition.

  2018 Awards and Honors

  Competition Winners
Georgetown University Law
Team Members: Joyce Dela Pena, Joseph “Zach” Noble

  Best Oralist
H. Elenore Wade, George Washington University School of Law