Comments Invited on 18 Applicants for Superior Court Vacancies

November 15, 2016

D.C. Superior Court logoThe Committee on the Selection and Tenure of Magistrate Judges invites comments on 18 applicants for the pending magistrate judge vacancies on the D.C. Superior Court created by Judges S. Pamela Gray and Lori Parker. The deadline to comment is December 2.

The Committee will submit the names of three applicants for each vacancy to the chief judge of the Superior Court for his consideration to nominate a magistrate judge. The Advisory Merit Selection Panel, comprised of attorneys and community members, will also review the candidates and make recommendations to the chief judge and the Committee. The applicants are:

Tanya M. Jones Bosier
Lisa D. Butler
Jack Sansom Gilmore
Emily Gunston
Jennifer V. Hancock
Heide L. Herrmann
Errika M. Jefferson
Shridevi Madhure
Desiree V. Matthews
Elbert Lindsey Maxwell II
Adav Noti
Edward Aloysius O’Connell
Nada Abdelaal Paisant
Charmetra Parker
Jonathan H. Pittman
Elliott J. Queen
Philip Skillman
Camille J.E. Tucker 

The Committee invites comments regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a magistrate judge position on the D.C. Superior Court. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:

1. Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);

2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);

3. Ethics (e.g., integrity; impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);

4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);

5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);

6. Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);

7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and

8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

Comments submitted to the Committee are confidential and will not be released to the public or applicant. Any comments discussed with an applicant will be discussed without revealing the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment.

All comments must be received no later than December 2, 2016, and should be sent to Judge Russell F. Canan at and Addy R. Schmitt, Esq., at

Any questions should be directed to the Committee’s Chair, Judge Russell F. Canan at