Comment on 21 Applicants for Magistrate Judge Vacancies

March 3, 2017

Members of the bench, bar, and public are hereby notified by the Committee on the Selection and Tenure of Magistrate Judges (the "Committee") that there are 21 applicants for the pending magistrate judge vacancies on the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.

The Committee will submit the names of six applicants to Chief Judge Robert E. Morin of the Superior Court for his consideration to nominate two magistrate judges. The Advisory Merit Selection Panel ("the "Panel"), comprised of attorneys and community members, will also review the candidates and make recommendations to the chief judge and the Committee. 

The applicants are:

Sherri Beatty-Arthur
Annette Kwok
Sheila Berman
E. Lindsey Maxwell
Jonathan Bolls  
Adav Noti
Kendra Davis Briggs
Kate Oler
Claudia Crichlow  
Charmetra Parker
Joel Davidson
Jonathan Pittman
Jack Gilmore  
Rebekah J.H. Sullivan
Jennifer Hancock
Camille Tucker
Rosamund Holder  
Jorge M. Vila
Aminata Ipyana
Katherine Wiedmann
Sloan Johnston

The Committee invites comments regarding the fitness of the above-listed applicants for a magistrate judge position on the D.C. Superior Court. Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories:

1. Judicial Temperament (e.g., ability to treat everyone with respect; willingness to listen with patience and courtesy; collegiality);

2. Professional Skills and Abilities (e.g., experience; intellectual ability; analytical skills; knowledge of the rules of procedure and evidence; ability and willingness to learn and develop professionally);

3. Ethics (e.g., integrity;impartiality; objectivity; sound judgment; restraint);

4. Commitment to Diversity (e.g., treats people equally, fairly and with respect, regardless of gender, race, economic status, sexual orientation or any other factor; promotes inclusiveness of women and minorities);

5. Leadership and Communication Skills (e.g., ability to communicate clearly and succinctly; ability to inspire respect and confidence; decisiveness);

6. Efficiency and Organizational Skills (e.g., ability to work efficiently and under time constraints; ability to work constructively with others; ability to manage time);

7. Writing Skills (e.g., ability to write clearly, concisely and persuasively); and

8. Community Service (e.g., pro bono activities; public service; volunteer activities; civic or charitable activities or memberships).

Comments submitted to the Committee are confidential and will not be released to the public or applicant. Any comments discussed with an applicant will be discussed without revealing the source of such comment, absent written consent by the individual providing the comment. All comments must be received no later than April 14, 2017, and should be sent to Judge Russell F. Canan and Katherine O'Rourke, Esq.

Any questions should be directed to the Committee's Chair.