Superior Court Seeks Comments on Magistrate Judge Applicants

July 21, 2014

The Superior Court of the District of Columbia’s Committee on the Selection and Tenure of Magistrate Judges is seeking comments on 28 applicants vying for a pending vacancy on the court.

The magistrate judge vacancy was created by the retirement of Judge Andrea L. Harnett, who has served on the court since 1985.

Applying for the vacancy are Yewande Aderoju, Jeremy Alper, Maria Amato, Clinton Beastrom, Tanya Bosier, Rahkel Bouchet, Nata Brown, Olga Clegg, Cory Chandler, Christine Davis, Shana Frost, Eric Glover, Sharon Goodie, Robert Hollander, Teresa Howie, Diane Lepley, Andrew McGuire, Theodore (Jack) Metzler, Anita Monteiro, Shelly Mulkey, Adrienne Noti, Edward O’Connell, Elliott Queen, Blanche Reese, Ebony Robinson, Philip Skillman, Curtis Staley, and Bertrand S. Thomas.

The committee will submit the names of three applicants to Superior Court Chief Judge Lee F. Satterfield for his consideration. Additionally, the Advisory Merit Selection Panel, comprised of attorneys and community members, will review the candidates and make recommendations to Judge Satterfield and the committee.

Applicants can be evaluated with respect to eight categories: judicial temperament, professional skills and abilities, ethics, commitment to diversity, leadership and communication skills, efficiency and organizational skills, writing skills, and community service.

Comments will be kept confidential. All comments must be received by August 1 and should be sent to Judge Russell F. Canan, chair of the Committee on the Selection and Tenure of Magistrate Judges, at and Addy R. Schmitt at

Questions should be directed to Judge Canan at 202-879-1952 or