Fastcase Honors Mazzaferri, Shipp

By Tracy Schorn

August 1, 2016

Gene ShippKatherine MazzaferriFastcase legal research service has selected Katherine A. Mazzaferri, chief executive officer of the D.C. Bar, and Wallace E. "Gene" Shipp Jr., who serves as disciplinary counsel, as recipients of its Fastcase 50 Award.

Selected from online nominations, the award recognizes "50 of the smartest, most courageous innovators, techies, visionaries, and leaders in the law."

Created in 2011, the Fastcase 50 has honored a diverse group of lawyers, legal technologists, policymakers, judges, law librarians, bar association executives, and people from all walks of life. In many cases, honorees are well known, while others have made important, but unheralded contributions.

Mazzaferri was singled out for her three decades of leadership at the D.C. Bar, elevating its stature and programming, and expanding its membership from around 35,000 at the beginning of her tenure to more than 100,000 members today.

"I'm very grateful for the Fastcase 50 Award. It's been my honor to serve in a leadership role at the D.C. Bar for 34 years. While it's always a thrill to receive an award, I'm glad for this opportunity to highlight the work the D.C. Bar is doing with the Pro Bono Center, our Lawyer Assistance Program, and Continuing Legal Education [Program], among other services," Mazzaferri said. "The success of these programs is thanks to the hard work of many D.C. Bar members and staff, and I'm privileged to be a part of such a talented legal community."

Shipp was honored for his long career in legal ethics, having served in the Office of Disciplinary Counsel for more than 35 years. Shipp also was honored in June with the ABA's 2016 Michael Franck Professional Responsibility Award.

"This is really an honor for the Office of Disciplinary Counsel, which has spent the last 43 years investigating allegations of attorney misconduct. It is our responsibility to protect the public and the Courts, which must be accomplished through independent, responsible and fair investigation of the facts," Shipp said. "My thanks to the staff and volunteers with whom I have had the pleasure to work over the past 35 years and who have made this honor possible."

View the 2016 winners at