Webster Wins D.C. Bar President-Elect Post, Joins Benitez on New Leadership Team

May 30, 2014

Timothy WebsterTimothy K. Webster, a partner at Sidley Austin LLP, has been elected president-elect of the D.C. Bar for the 2014–15 term. Webster will assume office on June 17 and serve in that post for one year before becoming president, and will continue in office a third year as immediate past president. With Webster’s installation, incumbent President-Elect Brigida Benitez will become president of the D.C. Bar. Benitez is a partner at the law firm of Steptoe & Johnson LLP.

 Webster served three two-year terms as the Bar’s general counsel from 2004–2010. As general counsel he had two main responsibilities: providing legal advice to the Bar on a wide range of issues related to the organization’s core mission, and representing the Bar and its employees and affiliates in litigation. At Sidley, Webster focuses his practice on civil and criminal environmental matters. Previously, he served seven years as a trial attorney in the Environmental Enforcement Section of the U.S. Department of Justice. He is a graduate of the University of Virginia School of Law, where he was editor-in-chief of the Virginia Environmental Law Journal.

Also elected for one-year terms were, as secretary, Matthew G. Kaiser of The Kaiser Law Firm PLLC, and, as treasurer, Sarah Shyr of Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC.

Elected to the Bar’s Board of Governors were Steven N. Berk of Berk Law PLLC; Sara Kropf of the Law Office of Sara Kropf PLLC; Annamaria Steward of the University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law; Keiko K. Takagi of Sughrue Mion, PLLC; and Benjamin F. Wilson of Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.

Elected for two-year terms on the American Bar Association House of Delegates were Jack C. Keeney Jr. of the Legal Aid Society of the District of Columbia, Laura A. Possessky of Gura & Possessky, and Lucy L. Thomson of Livingston PLLC.

The D.C. Bar Sections Office also released its election results. View newly elected steering committee members.

All newly elected officers, board members, and delegates will take office during the 2014 Celebration of Leadership: The D.C. Bar Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting set for 7 p.m. on June 17 at the Mayflower Renaissance Hotel, 1127 Connecticut Avenue NW.

2014 General Election Tally Sheet




President-ElectTimothy K. Webster3,217Elected
 Stephen I. Glover3,042 
SecretaryMatthew G. Kaiser3,179Elected
 Christopher P. Zubowicz2,595 
TreasurerSarah Shyr2,964Elected
 Laura Sierra2,613 
Board of GovernorsSara Kropf3,659Elected
 Annamaria Steward3,452Elected
 Benjamin F. Wilson2,986Elected
 Keiko K. Takagi2,872Elected
 Steven N. Berk2,575Elected
 Susan Kovarovics2,423 
 Mark A. Salzberg2,020 
 Sadina M. Montani2,005 
 Sergio F. Oehninger1,966 
 Ariel Levinson-Waldman1,958 
ABA House of DelegatesLucy L. Thomson4,133Elected
 Jack C. Keeney, Jr.4,012Elected
 Laura A. Possessky3,552Elected
 Beth L. Law3,269