#### District of Columbia Bar Board of Governors' Meeting May 14, 2019

## Call to Order (Agenda Item 1)

President Esther H. Lim called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone.

Other members of the Board of Governors who attended the meeting in-person were President-Elect Susan M. Hoffman, Immediate-Past President Patrick McGlone, Treasurer Amy E. Nelson, Secretary Paul S. Lee, Jessica E. Adler, Elizabeth (Lisa) R. Dewey, Karen E. Evans, Elizabeth (Sally) Gere, Theodore A. Howard, Annette K. Kwok, Megan Lacchini, Peggy Lansbach O'More, Keiko Takagi, Leslie T. Thornton, and Christopher Zubowicz.

Attending the board meeting via phone were board members Moses. A. Cook and Ellen Ostrow.

Board members David W. Arrojo, Rodney J. Bosco, A.J. S. Dhaliwal, Saleema Snow, and Benjamin F. Wilson did not attend the meeting.

D.C. Bar staff who attended the meeting were CEO Robert J. Spagnoletti, D.C. Bar Pro Bono Center Executive Director Rebecca K. Troth, COO Matthew S. Butler, Dennis Cuevas, Carla J. Freudenberg, Jeffery Leon, Margarita Lorenzetti, CIO Caterina Luppi, Lisa Martin-Morina, Maurice Morrow, Karen Savransky, Candace Smith-Tucker, CPO Darrin P. Sobin, Evan Spath, and Crystal White.

President's Report (Agenda Item 2)

President Lim presented her report.

### Consent Agenda (Agenda Item 3)

President Lim presented the Consent Agenda to the Board, which approved the minutes of the April 9, 2019, meeting. The Board also approved the Screening Committee's recommendations for appointments of the following individuals to these Bar committees:

- Attorney/Client Arbitration Board:
  - o Lisa Fishberg
  - o Charles McCullough
  - o Deandra Roaché (non-lawyer)
- <u>Board on Professional Responsibility</u> (recommendation to DCCA):
  - Attorney vacancies:
    - Sara K. Blumenthal (recommended by BPR)
    - Margaret Cassidy (recommended by BPR)
    - Robert Walker (recommended by BPR)
    - Matthew G. Kaiser (second term) (recommended by BPR)
    - William Corcoran
    - Theodore C. Hirt
    - Tonya Love
    - Buffy J. Mims
    - Nicole Porter
    - Dianne Smith
    - Rebecca Smith
    - Leslie H. Spiegel
    - John Soroka
    - Arlus Stephens
    - Marcie Ziegler
  - o Public member vacancies:
    - Kaprice Gettemy-Chambers
    - Joel Kavet
    - Darryl Lesesne
    - Trevor Mitchell
- Legal Ethics Committee:
  - o Janet E. Mitchell
  - o Victoria S. Nugent
  - o Daniel Schumack
  - o Albert W. Turnbull
  - o Chair: Michael Sundermeyer
  - o Vice Chair: Lauren Greenberg

- Rules of Professional Conduct Review Committee:
  - o Saba Bireda
  - Rachel Cotton
  - Matthew Edwards
  - o German Gomez
  - o Maryam Hatcher
  - o Eric Hirschhorn
  - Stacy Ludwig
  - o Stephen Marcus
  - o Elizabeth Simon

See Tab 3.

#### Treasurer's Report (Agenda Item 4)

Treasurer Nelson presented her report on the financials for the period ending March 31, 2019. Treasurer Nelson noted the Bar's usage of the term "license fees" instead of "dues" moving forward. Treasurer Nelson fielded questions from the Board.

See Tab 4.

## CEO's Report (Agenda Item 5)

CEO Spagnoletti presented his report, which included an introduction of new Executive Assistant Lisa Martin-Morina. He also gave updates on the license renewal process, the Bar elections process, the upcoming Celebration of Leadership event on June 11, and the screening and nominations process for the Bar Communities. He then fielded questions from the Board.

See Tab 5.

### Annual Report of the Pension Committee (Agenda Item 6)

Pension Committee Chair McGlone gave the annual Pension Committee report.

# Report of the Committee on Nominations (Agenda Item 7)

The Board discussed the non-lawyer candidates for the Board. The Board elected June Kress as a non-lawyer member of the Board of Governors, for a three-year term ending in 2022. President Lim abstained from the vote.

See Tab 7.

Executive Session (Agenda Item 8)

The Board met in Executive Session.

Adjournment (Agenda Item 9)

There being no further business, President Lim adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Del. L

Paul S. Lee Secretary